The presidents and heads of government of the Collective Security Treaty Organisation (CSTO) Council member states discussed regional security, organisational operations and summarised Kazakhstan’s 2018 chairmanship Nov. 8 in Astana.

The meeting was attended by presidents Nursultan Nazarbayev of Kazakhstan, Alexander Lukashenko of Belarus, Sooronbay Jeenbekov of Kyrgyzstan, Vladimir Putin of Russia, Emomali Rahmon of Tajikistan, acting Prime Minister of Armenia Nikol Pashinyan, as well as CSTO Secretary General Valery Semerikov and defence and foreign ministers of the six states.

The participants discussed international and regional security, as well as the interaction of CSTO member states within the organisation and internationally.

Nazarbayev noted the need to strengthen cooperation within the CSTO and improve efforts to ensure collective security.
“The main political document of the CSTO Summit in Astana became the final declaration, which reflects the objectives and plans of the organisation for the coming period. A statement ‘On coordinated measures regarding participants of armed conflicts on the side of international terrorist organisations was adopted. We completed the work, introduced by our Belarusian colleagues, on the legal registration of the status of the CSTO partner and the observer. A corresponding package of documents has been signed,” said Nazarbayev.

The group approved action plans to combat illegal migration and coordinate information policy.

“Kazakhstan considers the CSTO as an authoritative and effective structure. This year Kazakhstan successfully implemented its priorities with the active and comprehensive support of the member states,” said Nazarbayev.

“The coordination council for the standardisation of weapons and military equipment was created at the meeting of the CSTO intergovernmental commission on military-technical cooperation,”
he said.

Nazarbayev also noted the results of joint work on countering cyber threats and combating illicit drug trafficking.

Nazarbayev stressed that the initiative on adoption of a universal code of conduct to achieve a world free of terrorism, which was approved by more than 70 countries, was implemented during Kazakhstan’s chairmanship.
The one-year CSTO chairmanship was transferred Kazakhstan to Kyrgyzstan. Nazarbayev expressed confidence the Kyrgyz chairmanship will be successful.

Earlier in the day, a joint meeting of the Council of Foreign Ministers (CFM), the Council of Defence Ministers (CDM) and the Committee of Secretaries of the Security Councils (CSSC) of the CSTO was held with representatives from Armenia, Belarus, Kazakhstan, Kyrgyzstan, Russia and Tajikistan.

The meeting discussed international and regional security, military cooperation and to address current threats.
The next joint meeting of the CFM, the CDM and the CSTO’s CSSC and the summit will be in 2019 in Kyrgyzstan.