MANILA — The 12 winning senators in the recently-concluded May 13 national and local elections have been proclaimed by the Commission on Elections (Comelec) sitting as National Board of Canvassers (NBOC) on Wednesday morning at the Philippine International Convention Center (PICC) Forum Tent in Pasay City.

The seven-man Comelec en banc composed of chairman Sheriff Abas, Commissioners Al Parreno, Luie Tito Guia, Ma. Rowena Amelia Guanzon, Socorro Inting, Marlon Casquejo and Antonio Kho took turns in presenting the Certificates of Proclamation to the top 12 winners of the senatorial race.But, unlike in the May 2016 polls, the names of the newly-elected lawmakers were called according to the number of votes obtained, starting from the 12th place up to the first.

The first one to be proclaimed was reelectionist Senator Maria Lourdes “Nancy” Binay who got 14,496,350 votes which landed her at twelfth place.

Binay, who is seeking her second term in the Senate was accompanied by her family, led by her father, former Vice President Jejomar Binay; her mother, former Makati Mayor Elenita; and brother Junjun.

In eleventh place is come-backing senator Ramon “Bong” Revilla, Jr. who garnered 14,617,607 votes. He was with his wife, Bacoor City Mayor Lani Mercado-Revilla and their children.The family of former Senate President Aquilino Martin “Koko” Pimentel III, headed by his father former senator Aquilino Pimentel Jr., was at the PICC when he received his Certificate of Proclamation after garnering 14,646,191 votes, which landed him in tenth place.

One of the four neophyte senators, former Metropolitan Manila Development Authority chairman Francis Tolentino, who also ran in the Senate race last 2016 but lost, is at ninth place with 15,482,069 votes.

Another newbie in the Upper House is former Ilocos Norte Governor Maria Imelda Josefa “Imee” Marcos, who is in eight place with 15,851,910 votes. Former First Lady Imelda Marcos was also in attendance together with her daughter, Irene Marcos-Araneta, and son, former senator Ferdinand “Bongbong” Marcos Jr., and Imee’s sons Michael and Borgy Manotoc.

In seventh place with 16,954,677 votes is former senator and television/movie actor Manuel “Lito” Lapid. He was accompanied by his son, Mark Lapid.Reelectionist Sen. Juan Edgardo “Sonny” Angara is in sixth place after garnering 18,142,536 votes.

Completing the top five are neophyte Senator and former Philippine National Police chief Ronald “Bato” dela Rosa (5th place), with 18,968,664 votes. His immediate family was not with him at the proclamation.

In fourth place is another come-backing senator Pilar Juliana “Pia” Cayetano who got 19,762,584 votes. She was accompanied by her family as well.

Former Special Assistant to the President Christopher Lawrence “Bong” Go is in third place with 20,622,925 votes. Just like Tolentino, Marcos and dela Rosa, Go is also a newcomer in the Senate.In second place is another reelectionist, Senator Grace Poe-Llamanzares, with 22,011,745 votes. She was joined by her mother, actress Susan Roces. Reelectionist Senator Cynthia Villar received the most number of votes at 25,256,661. Her husband, former Senate President Manny Villar and their children attended the proclamation.

The NBOC has canvassed all the 167 Certificates of Canvass (COCs) in just eight days after the May 13 polls have closed. (PNA)